Sushi Craving

Dried pork sushi is my all time favorite.  I suppose there is a more proper name for it, but that is what we always called it growing up.  At any given time I will wish I had some, but it seems I only get around to making it every couple of years.

Ingredients assembled: seaweed, sushi rice, egg “pancakes”, pickled carrots, dried pork, bowl of water, and bamboo roller thingy.  Yes, I do have imitation crab there.  That was for a second kind of sushi, but it accidentally got frozen and did not thaw in time to make them at this time.

SONY DSC

The process went smoothly and quickly with my helpers.  Perhaps I will get around to making these more often now!

SONY DSC

Finished rolls.  I will not say how fast they were devoured.  It makes my heart happy that Kiki and Lulu enjoyed them as much as I do.  Or maybe that is a bad thing because then I do not get to eat them all by myself.

SONY DSC

Directions for those who are interested.  This is what I did, but like with most things involving food there is more than one way.

Pickled Carrots:  Peel and cut into matchsticks.  Generously sprinkle with salt and let sit for at least 15 minutes.  I probably let them sit about 30 minutes.  Rinse them off well in water.  Mix with 1 Tbsp of sugar and 2 Tbsp of vinegar and let sit again, at least an hour but I was not that patient.

Egg “pancake”:  Scramble 4 eggs.  Heat up small frying pan with some oil.   Cover the bottom of the pan with a thin layer of egg.  Let it cook, flip, cook, remove.  Repeat.  Cut into slices.

Sushi Rice:  Cook 2 cups of rice in a rice cooker.  In a small sauce pan heat 4 Tbsp of rice vinegar and 2-3 Tbsp of sugar until the sugar is dissolved.  Let cool.  Transfer your rice to a non-metallic bowl and let cool.  Thoroughly stir in the vinegar mixture.

Assembly:  Lay a sheet of seaweed on the bamboo roller.  Cover with a thin layer of rice, leave one short edge without anything on it.  Lay some eggs, carrots, and dried pork (whatever you choose ) along the opposite short edge.  Wet the exposed seaweed edge with a little water.  Carefully roll it up and let the wet edge seal it all together.

One thought on “Sushi Craving

  1. Looks really good. K & L look like they were having a good time making it. L seems like she can’t wait to eat one.

Leave a Reply

