Salt Crystals

For some reason I have been itching to make salt crystals.  I do not think I have done this since elementary school.

Prepped and ready to go.

By the end of the day it looked like this.

Fun observations:

1.  It is pink because I experimented by adding a drop of red food coloring to see if the crystals would change color.  Nope, they are still white.

2.  I added a stick in the water along with the string to see how it compared.  Some crystals formed on it but not nearly as many as the string.  Part of the exposed stick (without bark) did turn red!

3.  Crystals formed above the water line as the string and stick soaked up water.  This surprised me.

4.  I must have saturated the water with too much salt and that caused all the “snow” on the bottom.

SONY DSC                       SONY DSC

One thought on “Salt Crystals

Leave a Reply

