Boston Cream Cake

Two years ago I got on facebook and asked for people’s suggestions for a birthday cake to make.  That year I went with German Chocolate cake but I never forgotten someone’s suggestion to make a Boston Cream cake.  It has stuck with me for two years and now I finally had to make it!

I have never made this cake before but did not seem too hard – yellow cake layered with custard or pudding with chocolate frosting.  Yum!  Layered cakes are not new to me so I did not anticipate having my top layer fall apart on me.  My hubby was very helpful and came up with a solution to help hold the cake together while it sat overnight in the fridge.

Duct tape to the rescue! 🙂  (Remember his other manly solution?)

I am much too much of an impatient cook to do things “proper” and freeze the cakes and whatnot.  Just as long as it tastes good then I am happy.  Maybe the next time around I will work on presentation.

If you are interested in the recipe for this delicious cake from scratch:

Yellow cake – only tweaked it by using butter in place of the shortening.  Also, mine did not need the full 45 minutes to bake.

Filling (have no idea if this is pudding or custard)- In a saucepan over medium heat mix 1/3 c sugar and 2 Tbsp cornstarch.  Gradually add 1 1/2 c milk.  Stir constantly until thick and boils.  Boil & stir for 1 minute.  Separate bowl beat 2 egg yolks.  Slowly stir in at least 1/2 of the hot milk into the eggs.  Return the eggs to milk in the saucepan.  Boil and stir for another minute.  Remove from heat.  Add some vanilla extract.  Cool.

Chocolate frosting (Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Frosting) – I usually half this recipe, which is enough to cover the top of a 9×13 cake.

 

Leave a Reply

