Cooking Up a Storm

Cooking something extra besides dinner and serving up breakfast and lunch qualifies as special.  Making two extra things in a one day … amazing! Apparently I did not have much else pressing to do.

We were running low on cereal so I deemed it time to make another batch of granola.  This time I combined a couple recipes.  I love it!

Recipe for what I did:  Preheat over 325 degrees.  Melt 4Tbsp of butter, add in 1/4 c honey and 1or so Tbsp of peanut butter.   Separate bowl:  2 c oats, 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/3 c nuts (I did peanuts), and I tossed some wheatgerm on top (amount?).  Mix the oats and honey mixture until it is all coated.  Oil sprayed a pan  and spread out the granola.  Bake 15 minutes, stirring one time half way through.  After it’s done, add your mix-ins.  I used coconut, raisins, and dried cranberries.

 

While looking for mix-ins the girls pulled out the marshmallows from my hubby’s recent guys camping trip.  We will never eat these as is so I said, let’s make something with them!  After a quick recipe research using marshmallows I settled on popcorn bars.

My recipe:  Popped 1/3 cup of popcorn (manual says that equals two quarts).  Line a 8×8 pan with tinfoil.  Melted 4 Tbsp of butter and mixed in and melt 3/4 bag of marshmallows.   Add in the popcorn and stir until it’s all covered.  Put popcorn mixture into pan.  Do NOT touch.  Not even to catch some of the popcorn that falls overboard.  I have two burnt fingers that remind me that it is not a smart move.  Melt chocolate almond bark (I think I had six squares).  Spread over popcorn.  Allow little ones to decorate with fun sprinkles.  Cool in fridge.  Work muscles cutting into square.

Leave a Reply

