Midwest BBQ Pasta Salad

I LOVE this dish.  It comes from a church cookbook.  As soon as I saw it I knew I had to try it and it did not disappoint.  In fact, it has become one of my favorite meals and I just have to share so you can enjoy too.  It can be eaten warm or cold and is delicious either way (bonus).

The official recipe:

Cook a box of tri-colored rotini until al-dente (still a bit firm).  Mix together with 1 c ranch dressing, 3/4 c bbq sauce, 2 c cooked chopped chicken, 1/2 c bacon chopped into pieces, 1/2 c diced bell pepper, 1/2 c minced scallions, 1/2 c chopped red onion, and 1/2 c cucumbers, peeled, seded & diced.  Top with Parmesan cheese.

If you cook like me, those measurements are just guidelines.  I did not have any red onion on hand so I skipped it.  I used a whole smallish cucumber.  About six pieces of bacon are in the dish.  A handful of bell pepper and green onion (because I chop them up after I buy them and freeze them).  When I get it all together I squirt ranch and BBQ all over until it tastes yummy.  I also threw in come raw carrots and cooked corn because I had it on hand.  I cook a whole chicken and then pick off chicken until I think there is enough in the dish.  The rest of the chicken goes into the fridge for some other recipes.  Lastly, I forgot to add the Parmesan (this time around).

Voila!  It may not look like much but it is soooo tasty!

Leave a Reply

