Never Assume

Part of my garden will be growing potatoes.  I am particularly excited about having sweet potatoes.  I like them better.  My hubby wanted some regular potatoes so we will grow those too.

In preparation, I went to the grocery store and bought some regular and sweet potatoes.  I threw them in a cool, dry, dark place to wait for the eyes to sprout.

My regular potatoes are coming along nicely.  My sweet potatoes … not so much.  Perhaps it is time to do a little research.  I figured they were a potato so I treated them as such.  How wrong I was!  Come to find out, I should have treated them the exact opposite as a regular potato.  They need sun and water.

Here we go … hopefully now they will start growing for me.

My sweet potato helper cheering for me.

2 thoughts on “Never Assume

  1. Have you checked into seed potatoes? We got seed potatoes for our sweet potatoes last year, and they were excellent! Far better than the ones in the store: tender and sweet. They were especially good stir-fried!

    Some day I hope we’ll grow several varieties of potatoes: some purples, fingerlings, etc. That way I don’t have to pay the big $$ for variety!

Leave a Reply

