Saturday Mornings

This is our Saturday morning ritual.  Hint: it is not cartoons.  It is skyping.  I am so very thankful for skype so that my kids can know my family (their grandparents and aunt) who do not live in town.  The girls like to see and hear different animals from some app on my Dad’s phone.  I believe that is what they are doing in this picture.

I did not know my grandparents very well growing up.  We lived overseas and, back in the olden days, all we had for communication was snail mail.  For those who do not know, snail mail overseas takes a long time!  I do not really remember phone calls unless it was important, such as a passing of a grandparent.   Thankfully both my grandmas lived long enough for me to get to know them better once we moved to the states when I was in high school.

Sometimes I wonder what it would have been like to skype with my grandparents.    This makes me all the more grateful for technology like skype, facebook, blogs, etc and tech-savy parents!  It helps make the 6 1/2 hour drive to their house (or the day long flight to my sister) feel much smaller.  I shudder to think what I ever did before all this wonderful technology 🙂

Thirst: Healthy Hydration! http://www.iamasponge.com/Sports_Drink

Leave a Reply

