Do you own your possessions, or do they own you?

I had mentioned that I was attending a Sunday School class about Simplify.  Here are some thoughts from the past couple weeks.

1.  The pastor had recently been to the Ukraine.  He said you had to be careful about commenting and expressing admiration for items in a person’s house.  If you said too much they will give it to you just because you liked it.  Imagine that in the US:  you have someone over and end up giving them your possession just because they said they liked it!  Imagine not letting the possessions you own own you so that you had the freedom to just give them away!

2.  Luke 16:1-13.  Be generous with your worldly wealth.   Lest anyone get the wrong idea, I’m not saying to give away all your stuff just because someone says they like it.  It’s the ATTITUDE that I want to emphasize.  Hold your possessions with an open hand.

3.  Hebrews 13:5.  Be free of the LOVE of money and be content with what you have.  Wealth isn’t a bad thing, but is a dangerous thing.  Greed and selfishness are not attractive.

4.  James 4:13.  Do not worry about the future because you can not control what will happen.  No matter how much I like to plan for the future, ultimately there is nothing I can do to change what will happen.  In an instant all the plans you made can change.  This was no clearer to me than one night a few years ago.  We were out celebrating with a birthday dinner for my husband.  My sister called and I answered to wish my brother-in-law a happy birthday because he and my husband shared the same birthdate.  Instead she told me that her husband, only 31 years old, had suddenly passed away.  All her plans for the future had come to a screeching halt.  I still plan for the future, it’s my personality, but I am more conscience of living for today and making today count.

The picture at the top is my sister and her late husband.  He liked to have things but he was also very generous.

Leave a Reply

