Thought provoking thoughts

1.  I was delighted to find out that the church my in-laws go to (I also used to go there too, it is where I met my hubby) was doing a Sunday School series on simplifying your life.  I went this past Sunday to see what it would be like.  Like myself, others were tired of the all the junk in their lives and wondered why they had it, so they decluttered.  Two couples had down-sized their houses and are finding contentment in their new home.

The pastor talked about two things that I wanted to share.  First, he reminded us about King Solomon.  Solomon had tasted from the smorgasborg of all life had to offer.  In the end he said it was all meaningless.   MeaninglessSecond, we read Colossians 3:1-6.  Verse 2 says “set your mind on things above, not on earthly things” and verse 5 says “Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: … greed, which is idolatry”. Idolatry!  Good reminders when thinking about why I have the things I do, why am I keeping it, and why do I want to bring something new into the house.  Of course, I’m not saying you can’t ever buy anything, but we need to make sure our hearts are in the right place.

2.  This weekend I carried six boxes label “kitchen” from the garage to the kitchen.  I went through it all, plus my cupboards, and decluttered.  I had been thinking that I had no idea what was in those boxes anymore and if I was doing just fine without them why was I cluttering up the garage with them?  By the end of  day I had kept those things that I really wanted to use, one box went out to the curb as free, only one box went back to the garage, and the rest of listed for sale.  It’s been a couple days I’m tired of those sale boxes sitting in my kitchen.  I had the freely realization that I could care less now if those boxes sold, I just want it gone!  The peace of having a clutter-free home surpasses getting a few bucks.

3.  I’m finding contentment in our home.  For several reasons we put our house up for sale in August.  I was looking forward to getting a bigger house.  After decluttering and making the commitment for a simpler life I have been surprised that I’m happy in THIS house.  Our house is still for sale, but we now have a “let’s see” attitude because we know we’ll survive in this home.  It has made me re-evaluate the kind of home I want to move into as well.  How big is big enough?  A big house means more to clean after all!

4.  I just finished reading Joshua Becker’s ebook “Simplify”.  If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.  He is very practical, down-to-earth, reasonable …!  There are step-by-step guides to help anyone start and continue the process of decluttering their lives.  This is one of his quotes “You don’t need to chase everything you’ve always wanted if you already have everything you need.”

The more we pursue simplicity and financial freedom, the more I see how they go hand in hand.  Financial freedom is easier to attain if you have a simple life, thus leaving more money for causes that are close to our heart.

Take time to stop and the smell the flowers!

Play, laugh, and enjoy life!

Leave a Reply

